Lesson Learned: Loving Those Who Act Unlovable

This morning I read an article that Rhonda Hines had posted about loving the people who are acting unlovable. Well, God gave me a chance to do just that. I went to give blood and the nurse checking me in seemed a little blunt and snippy. When she took my blood pressure, it was a little high. I thought, “Yeah, you’re probably the reason.”  After I finished answering some more questions, a real nice nurse throwing out compliments completed the check in. When I got to the table, what nurse did I end up with? You guessed it, the snippy one. I thought, “I wish I would have gotten the other one.” God had different plans. He wanted me to love the one who was acting unlovable. I wasn’t lying there more than two minutes when my nurse said something to another nurse about dealing with the stress of caring for her elderly mother. That nurse told my nurse that she’s learned to give things to God. My nurse began to cry.

I began to share a couple of situations that I was faced with as my mother aged. My nurse then began to unload some of what she was going through. We were able to talk the whole time I gave blood. When it was time for me to leave, my nurse said, “Thank you so much for listening. I didn’t mean to be so snippy earlier. I’ve just been under so much stress. Thanks again for listening.”  I gave her a hug and told her, “This world needs more children like you. You’re doing great toward your mother.”

Now, I pray that the Lord will give me the people acting unlovable because they are the ones who need a touch from God. I want to be God’s vessel to bring hope to the hopeless, strength to the weak, encouragement to the stressed, and a smile to the unlovable.

I’m thankful that God continues to teach and use me.

By: Linda Svacha 🙂

Leave a Reply

